I’m in debt-denial

For so long I have been in debt denial. Putting money on my credit card to get the bank off my back, and then using my credit card to pay another bill, buying things I can’t afford to curb the debt depression and “borrowing” from bill payments to cover impulse buys, ultimately leaving me with arrears on my bills that I couldn’t pay.

I even came home from work one day to find a calling card from a debt collector on my doorstep. He had come over to repossess my car. Upon seeing the debt collector’s card, I drove for an hour (after using bill money to buy petrol) because I thought the scary man couldn’t take my car if he couldn’t find it!

The other day I stumbled across a hugely inspirational blog Lady in the Red by Greer McDonald. Greer began writing when she was in much the same financial position as I am. Now she is at the end of her journey, on the other side of the rainbow (the end with the pot of gold) and I want to be there too!

I too, am fed up with living pay-to-pay, having no money to do anything or go anywhere, having a non-existent social life but most of all I am tired of all the stress this debt has caused me. Now it’s time for me to take back control of my life!

I invite you to follow me as I publicly document my journey towards becoming debt-free. Help me by sharing your money-saving tips and tricks; tell me about your own financial experiences or just come along for the ride.

About Renee

I'm 26, currently living in Invercargill with my partner. I have a good job as a Communications Officer in the public sector but my bills still exceed my income. The way I have always dealt with my problems is to talk about them. My debt has been a problem for so long, yet I kept it private. I don't know why I didn't do this sooner!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m in debt-denial

  1. Greer says:

    Woo hoo! Go Renee! Keep us updated on the good, bad, ugly and awesome adventures you’ll have along the way!

  2. v. says:

    Good luck! So inspirational! Look forward to following your journey. 🙂

  3. Gemma Forde says:

    Good on u Renee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Kezza says:

    Hey Renee
    Good luck with clearing this up – I empathise – went through this when I did the OE thing and lived in the London – was eternally broke and took what seemed like forever to climb out of the ether. I got there in the end, and have learned some valuable lessons! Credit cards only come out when there’s big bills to pay, otherwise they’re in the freezer 🙂

  5. Renee says:

    Thanks for all your support! I hope you all stick with me along the way!

  6. Gerry says:

    Does stating the problem help?

Leave a Reply

